Announcing SLAM School

SLAM School: A Bi-Weekly Series for Educators and Organizers hosted by the NCTE Studies of Literacies & Multimedia (SLAM)

From discerning fake news to learning how to contact your congressional representatives to strategically organizing and communicating online, the skills and expertise of English teachers are more important than ever before. The Studies of Literacies and Multimedia (SLAM) Assembly is launching SLAM School, a bi-weekly online web series. Every two weeks, beginning on February 8th, SLAM members will offer guidance and instruction for using specific digital tools and curricular ideas to support civic engagement, protest, and discussion of the crucial issues that are shaping classroom and broader culture. These short (20-30 minute) online sessions are offered free and will be archived via an NCTE Youtube Playlist. Recognizing that the world inside and outside of our classrooms is changing rapidly, SLAM School will offer instructional tools for helping youth critique and learn about the current events around them while also giving teachers critical tools for leading the defense of public education and broader U.S. democracy. We hope you will join us.

Initial SLAM School Dates:

2/8: Organizing and Communicating Through Twitter – 4 p.m. PST/7 p.m. EST

Link to join class 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rC2Pz8MaQgU

2/23: How to Contact Legislators – 5 p.m. PST/8 p.m. EST

3/7: Topic TBA – 3 p.m. PST/6 p.m. EST

3/22: Topic TBA – 4 p.m. PST/7 p.m. EST

Dates will continue roughly every two weeks and will be announced at SLAM.education.

To attend SLAM School head to the SLAM Youtube Channel here. 

One thought on “Announcing SLAM School”

Leave a Reply