Announcing SLAM School

SLAM School: A Bi-Weekly Series for Educators and Organizers hosted by the NCTE Studies of Literacies & Multimedia (SLAM)

From discerning fake news to learning how to contact your congressional representatives to strategically organizing and communicating online, the skills and expertise of English teachers are more important than ever before. The Studies of Literacies and Multimedia (SLAM) Assembly is launching SLAM School, a bi-weekly online web series. Every two weeks, beginning on February 8th, SLAM members will offer guidance and instruction for using specific digital tools and curricular ideas to support civic engagement, protest, and discussion of the crucial issues that are shaping classroom and broader culture. These short (20-30 minute) online sessions are offered free and will be archived via an NCTE Youtube Playlist. Recognizing that the world inside and outside of our classrooms is changing rapidly, SLAM School will offer instructional tools for helping youth critique and learn about the current events around them while also giving teachers critical tools for leading the defense of public education and broader U.S. democracy. We hope you will join us.

Initial SLAM School Dates:

2/8: Organizing and Communicating Through Twitter – 4 p.m. PST/7 p.m. EST

Link to join class 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rC2Pz8MaQgU

2/23: How to Contact Legislators – 5 p.m. PST/8 p.m. EST

3/7: Topic TBA – 3 p.m. PST/6 p.m. EST

3/22: Topic TBA – 4 p.m. PST/7 p.m. EST

Dates will continue roughly every two weeks and will be announced at SLAM.education.

To attend SLAM School head to the SLAM Youtube Channel here

It’s Election Season for NCTE’s SLAM Assembly!

We will be electing the roles of Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer for two year terms. Anybody can run for one of these offices and we highly encourage you to nominate or self-nominate using this Google Form by October 31, 2016.

Election deadlines:
Nominations must be completed by 10/31
Ballots distributed & voting period: 11/14-11/28
Announcement of new election results: 12/1
New officers begin calendar-year term starting 1/1/2017

Join SLAM for an #nctechat!

SLAM will be hosting the first #NCTEchat of 2016 on January 17th at 8pm EST. This is a one hour period to informally dialogue on Twitter with other educators across the globe interested in multimedia, literacies, and English education. We hope you’ll join us!

If you’ve never participated in a Twitter chat, it’s pretty easy! (You’ll need to make an account on Twitter). There are a couple of simple tutorials if you are feeling interested. You can read instructions here or watch a short video here. But, really, even if you just search for #nctechat on Twitter around 8 p.m. est, you should be able to follow along with the conversation (and anything you type should include “#nctechat” in the tweet to be seen by others)… the rest are more advanced tools you can learn later on.4adc697b-4c15-48aa-9c4e-620d1f942001